Maroon’z Letter to the Pope MASS EDUCATION – YEZ! MASS INCARCERATION–NO!

28 Jul

Left Wing and Progressive Books, Blogs, Video’s fah451bks.wordpress.com – Leadership, Education, Solidarity, Struggle, Sacrifice “Serve the People Serve the Planet”

Moorbey'z Blog

Open Letter from a Life Prisoner

To His Holiness Pope Francis

Most Holy Father:

My name is Russell Shoatz, and I have been continuously imprisoned in U.S.A. prisons for over 43 years, after being convicted in regards to the death of a policeman in 1970.

Although I have never killed another individual, I was nonetheless a part of a movement whose outrage and actions against racial, economic, and social injustice resulted in the death of that policeman, a train of events that leaves me with deep remorse.

It is said that when a fool gets enough scars, he will become a wise man. In my case – soon to be 72 years of age – I have certainly gained some wisdom about some matters, in particular what I am about to present here. Namely my concern nowadays is for the countless younger people who may be forced to also spend…

View original post 686 more words

