Tools of Control: A Book about How Four Power Structures Influence Human Thought, Identity and Action; How We Can Reduce their Influence, Create Greater Peace, Freedom, Autonomy, Sustainability, Biodiversity, Production Based on Need, Equitable Resource Distribution, and Human and Ecological Well-being

4 Sep

Tools Of Control Cover (1)

 

I am volunteer, anarchist activist, blogger, farmer, and writer on human and ecological rights, equality, and preservation, and I am trying to get the word out about my book. My book, Tools of Control takes readers on a journey through the history of humankind, chronicling some of our greatest achievements and biggest mistakes, explaining how we went from freedom to slavery with the development of the world’s most controlling power structures on Earth: governments, religious dogma and rulers, transnational corporations, and the mass media. My book explains how they have harmed the planet and life on Earth and what we can do preserve and protect life on Earth and the natural world.

The full title is Tools of Control: A Book about How Four Power Structures Influence Human Thought, Identity and Action; How We Can Reduce their Influence, Create Greater Peace, Freedom, Autonomy, Sustainability, Biodiversity, Production Based on Need, Equitable Resource Distribution, and Human and Ecological Well-being.

If interested, you can read the full book here for free:  http://toolsofcontrol.com/2014/03/29/tools-of-control-full-book/.

You can also find news articles and a ton of other work of mine available to read for free here: http://toolsofcontrol.com/content-navigator/. This page also has links to the book in different languages, including Spanish, French, Portuguese, Zulu, and Afrikaans.

My work has appeared in the Providence Journal. I have attended Harvard, Boston University, and Warren Wilson Farm College where I studied sustainable agriculture and global studies. I have volunteered for nonprofits, taught classes on agriculture, campaigned for progressive politicians, and grown organic food for many people. I try to help bring the change I seek in the world and not just write about it. But I want to do much more.

WORLD REVOLUTION

The “System” holds no future for the 99% – A Revolution does

 

Every Thing Thats Left!My writing is very non-partisan, very opposed to concentrated power and propaganda, and very much focused on human and ecological rights and equality. I believe all people are capable of being autonomous and that there is no such thing as legitimate rule or legitimate state violence. I believe businesses can and should be run by their workers, communities should police and govern themselves, and people should have the right to do as they please as long as what they do harms no one else. I believe this is only way to have a truly free world. In my opinion, the dystopian vision of billionaires and dictators has overshadowed nearly everything of value on this Earth, and we must work outside of the system by building and strengthening agrarian, egalitarian, nonviolent, democratic communities.

I do the work I do for free because I believe important information should be free, but I also need to make a living to keep doing this work and to fund my ultimate goal of creating organic, sustainable community non-profit permaculture farms and water systems (wells and water collectors) in food and water insecure regions to increase food and water security and health around the globe. More on that can be found here: http://toolsofcontrol.com/food-for-all-donations-and-partners/. (I am currently using my yard to grow organic produce for people in need, but I am very limited by space.)

My book is not doom and gloom as some may perceive on a first glance. It doesn’t just outline problems. It outlines specifically which institutions, people, and traits, historically and now, most greatly perpetuate the world’s problems, how, why, and what we can do about it. But the solutions for a better world may be better known than the how, where, and why of it all. It’s not hard to create a hypothetical utopia. What is hard is taking our current reality and turning it into that utopia. For example, most people know it’s an environmental imperative to switch to renewable sources of energy. That’s obvious and it’s easy to write about a hypothetical scenario in which we use them exclusively. But how we overcome the greatest pragmatic obstacles like oil companies and every industry that runs off fossil fuel and doesn’t want to change because they don’t want to lose money or make any substantial changes is the more difficult question. Or how do we create peace in a world filled with war, war machines, bloated militaries, and financial rulers profiting from it? Those are questions my book tackles. So it isn’t all pretty, but nothing realistic to pull us out of the mess we’re in is going to be all pretty.

If you are or know a literary agent or publisher interested in helping me spread this work, please let me know. To support my work you can also make a donation to the site, addressed to my e-mail address: AGoldstein221@gmail.com or you can subscribe to the blog to receive new content as it becomes available. If you follow me, I will follow back. You can also like the facebook page for the site: https://www.facebook.com/Toolsofcontrol.

Thank you to those who support me and spread the word, 

Adam S. Goldstein

